Another Way to Cook Turnips


Yukon potatoes and purple turnip

When I got inundated with turnips from my winter produce CSA last week (after trading my beets for more turnips), I started thinking of how to get creative with recipes. The first attempt was Bill’s spontaneous root vegetable melange. The next attempt was something you may have had with Thanksgiving dinner: mashed potatoes and turnip puree.

I had one very large purple turnip and only two Yukon potatoes. Ideally, I would have added a couple more potatoes, but it still turned out pretty tasty. All I did was peel and dice both vegetables, making them uniform size. Then I put them in a big pot of water and cooked the vegetables until tender (about 15-20 minutes). This also turned into a science lesson: I learned that turnips are less dense than potatoes and float to the top!

Boiling diced turnips and potatoes

When they were done I simply mashed them and added a little buttermilk leftover from making butter, along with salt and pepper.

Mashed potatoes and turnips with buttermilk

It was a delicious side dish to accompany roast chicken with gravy and oven-roasted carrots.

Roast chicken with carrots, mashed potatoes and turnip puree, and gravy

8 responses to “Another Way to Cook Turnips

  1. I’ve found that the easiest way to use turnips!

  2. That sounds delicious! Especially with roast chicken. (BTW Morros y christianos became a hit over Christmas when I brought it to a Mexican dinner.)

    • Thanks, Kate! It was yummy, especially with the gravy, which I don’t often make. Glad to know the black beans and rice were a crowd-pleaser!

  3. Growing up, we had mashed rutabegas and potatoes. Mom called them turnips. Confusing since they are referred to as Sweedish Turnips. One of my favorite sides. BTW, sorry I have slacked on visiting your site.

    • That would be tasty, too, Patrick. I have also heard rutabagas called Swedish turnips. I think I’m getting some in my CSA this week! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. These look absolutely delicious! Comfort food at its best 🙂

    I host a weekly CSA link party and would love for you to be part of it. Come and check it out and add your link…http://inherchucks.com/2013/01/25/whats-in-the-box-59/.

    Hope to see you there!

    • Thanks for stopping by, inherchucks! I’d love to post a CSA link. I checked out the link party page but I’m not sure how to post there. And on what day?

Leave a Reply

