Pumpkin Pie for Bill


I always say I’m not a baker but sometimes this time of year I get out the measuring cups, spoons, and baking pans (stashed away in a tub in the basement) to make something sweet in the oven.

With our new-found recipe opportunities because of raw milk, I can now make dishes for Bill that call for cow’s milk, cream, butter, or ice cream, as long as I make it myself from the raw milk I get locally every week. (It’s the pasteurization process that affects the milk protein, which then creates the allergy for many  people, including Bill.)

Can you believe I’ve never made a pumpkin pie? Why? Well, laziness for one thing. My lack of baking enthusiasm limits me to the desserts I really like and most of those include chocolate. I also love pecan pie but there are a number of ingredients Bill can’t eat in that type of pie. Pumpkin pie was never high on my list of favorites but I wonder if that’s because most of the ones I’ve eaten (except for maybe my Grandma’s) were store-bought. So I thought I’d give it a go.

The trick was to find a recipe that was Bill-friendly, which is impossible because of the pie crust. Since I never make my own crust (is that the true difference between bakers and non-bakers?), I set out in search for one that maybe he could eat from our local health food store. We found a frozen brand of gluten-free pie crusts called Kinnikinnick but by the time I was able to get one, they had sold out. So I opted for the next best thing:

Bill’s wheat allergy is probably the mildest of the three he has (wheat, pasteurized cow dairy, and corn), and I figured he could always eat the filling and leave the crust!

I found a Pumpkin Pie recipe I really liked from Gourmet magazine on Epicurious.com. And I didn’t have to make any substitutions (except raw milk and cream for pasteurized).

First I baked the pie crust. (With no pie weights—or dried beans to sacrifice in their stead—I had to search online for a way to bake the pie shell without air pockets and shrinkage. The solution that worked was putting another dish on top of the crust—with foil in between—to weight it down.)

If I make this pie again, next time I will definitely go to the farmers market and buy a baking pumpkin for the puree. But, being an amateur, this time I stuck with a good old fashioned can of pumpkin puree. At least it was organic!

What an easy recipe this was. After the pie shell is baked and cooled, you simply mix all the ingredients together and dump them into the pie shell. The pie bakes for about 45-50 minutes, and it’s important to know that the filling will continue to cook once you take it out of the oven.

Here’s the pie before it went into the oven:

And, voila! All it needs is a scoop of raw milk vanilla ice cream!

7 responses to “Pumpkin Pie for Bill

  1. My French Heaven

    This is lovely! I haven’t had pumpkin pie since I left the States years ago… Thank you for sharing!!

    • Thank you. And I love your blog….my husband and I keep lamenting how we’d love to move to France! Merci beaucoup de visiter mon blog!

      • My French Heaven

        Well if moving is not an option, you can always visit. You’ll always be welcome at the château!!

      • We are definitely considering a trip, hopefully this year. We have both been to France but not together. I’ll keep your B&B in mind….already found it on the internet! Thank you, Stephane!

      • My French Heaven

        :0)

  2. Pumpkin pie is one of my favorites to make, because it is so easy. The gluten free crust would be a challenge. How did this one taste? I am going to share your blog with yet another friend that has had to go gluten free. Hopefully, she can find some good tips here… like all your pizzas!

    • Well, we didn’t have the gluten-free crust since they ran out of them at the store so we had a wheat crust, which was fine. It wasn’t too bad for Bill, but ideally it would be good to go wheat-free or crustless. I hope your friend likes our pizzas! We are really enjoying them. Thanks for sharing my blog, Marie!

Leave a Reply

