Bill-Friendly Fried Green Tomatoes


I don’t know about you but I hate to waste food. So when there are green tomatoes on the vine at the end of summer it’s a great opportunity to make fried green tomatoes. But what do you do when most of the recipes include bread crumbs and/or cornmeal—and you’re allergic to wheat and corn like Bill is?

When I tried making them, I improvised the best I could! Here’s how:

Set-up is key, just like when you make stir-fry. You need to have everything prepared ahead of time because the process of dredging, dipping, and frying goes quickly.

First, slice the tomatoes about 1/4-inch thick.

Then put some buttermilk in a bowl. I used leftover buttermilk from my raw milk butter process because Bill can consume raw cow dairy products (as opposed to pasteurized). If you have a dairy allergy you could try rice milk instead.

Mix together oat flour with some paprika, salt, and pepper and put it on a plate for dredging the tomatoes. (In retrospect, I would probably use brown rice flour since it retains less moisture.)

Beat an egg in a bowl.

For the bread crumbs, use old bread, or create old bread by leaving a few slices out the night before. We use Sami’s Millet & Flax Bread because it doesn’t have wheat or corn in it. (If you don’t have a wheat allergy you could use any kind of plain bread crumbs.) Simply smash the dried bread with your hands or a rolling pin to crumble the bread into small pieces.

Once everything is ready, heat some vegetable oil in a large skillet. I used safflower oil and was very liberal with it so the tomatoes wouldn’t stick.

Then it’s just dip, dredge, dip, dredge—from buttermilk to flour to egg to bread crumbs. And into the pan they go.

Fry on each side for about two minutes or until brown and crispy. If you need to fry in batches, keep the cooked ones warm on a plate in a low oven.

We enjoyed ours with a variation on Bill-Friendly Mac & Cheese on a cool autumn night!

8 responses to “Bill-Friendly Fried Green Tomatoes

  1. Thanks for the recipe… not only do I have a few green tomatoes left from the garden, but I have a family member with celiacs, so this is perfect!

  2. This is exactly why I need a garden. Love it. My mother used to make an unusual fried tomato gravy with ripe tomatoes. I do not know anyone else who makes that.

  3. Fried green tomatoes remind me of the summer I was a carney at the Wisconsin State Fair. Another food vendor, a purveyor of world-class barbecue, loved my boss’s batter recipe. Every day of the fair, he delivered a small paper sack of green tomatoes to our food joint. After we sliced, battered and fried them, he would swap the tomatoes for armloads of outstanding ribs and chicken and other delicacies. Seemed like we got the better deal, but Mr. Barbecue was happy with the arrangement, so I guess everybody won. Thanks for your recipe!

  4. I haven’t had good fried tomatoes since I left the States a few years back. Thanks for sharing. I know what’s I’ll have tomorrow for lunch (if I can find green tomatoes this time of year in France). Please continue sharing. I like your blog very much!!

Leave a Reply

