Shourba Ads (Red Lentil Soup)


This is one of Bill’s and my favorite soups, which we often have for lunch. Besides being delicious, it’s filling, it’s easy, and it’s cheap (as we learned during Day 2 of our experiment, “How to Eat Healthy on $5.00 a Day.” The recipe comes from our friends Fadi and Carolyn, who have a Mid-Eastern cookbook they loaned me once. (If I had the name I would cite it here!) Called Shourba Ads in Arabic, it only has seven ingredients. I often make it with chicken stock but to keep costs down I used water and it was equally as good.

Shourba Ads 

1 1/2 cups red lentils (9 oz.)
6 cups chicken stock or water
1 medium onion, grated
1 tsp. cumin
Salt and pepper to taste
1 T. lemon juice
Optional: olive oil for drizzling

Place lentils in a sieve and wash under running water.

Bring stock or water to a boil in a large pot and add lentils and onion. (If you’re lazy like I am, you can chop the onion instead of grating it, but the flavor is definitely better if you grate it.)

Return to a slow boil, cover, and simmer over low heat for 45-60 minutes until lentils are tender. Do not stir during cooking.

The mixture will be a puree; for a finer texture pass through a sieve or puree in a blender.

Add cumin and stir. Season with salt and pepper to taste. For thinner consistency, add water. Stir in lemon juice and heat until gently bubbling.

Serve with lemons and drizzle with olive oil if desired.

Serves 6,

We added chopped fresh spinach to our soup to get our greens and legumes in a one-dish meal.

4 responses to “Shourba Ads (Red Lentil Soup)

  1. Pingback: How to Eat Healthy on $5.00 a Day: Day 2 | Life Is Fare

    • Great info, Kate. Thanks! I have a copy of Mark Bittman’s “How to Cook Everything” that I think warrants its own blog post. Even though I’m a huge fan of “The Joy of Cooking” (of which my copy is very dogeared!), I think Bittman’s book is actually more resourceful for eating on the cheap. Your suggestion looks like a good one, too!

  2. Looks really good. I’d never have thought of it. While we’re cooking cheap, I used the More with Less cookbook (http://www.amazon.com/More—Less-Cookbook-World-Community/dp/083619263X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1330478382&sr=1-1) throughout my years of childrearing on an extreme budget. Written and tested by Mennonite women, this was my go-to cookbook for all kinds of from-scratch recipes. I still use that dogeared copy, Best recipe for cinnamon rolls in the world.

  3. Pingback: What Can You Do to Fight Hunger? | Life Is Fare

Leave a Reply

