A Special Dinner


Last night I had the privilege of collaborating with Butch’s Restaurant in Holland, Michigan to promote my cookbook, Nothing to Sneeze At, during a dinner for which Chef Adam prepared wheat-free, corn-free, cow-dairy-free recipes from the book. I think several of the dinner guests were pleasantly surprised when they tasted the dishes he made and realized how delicious they can be–even with substitutions. For me, it was a treat to taste my recipes made by a professional chef!

We had a great turnout of 20 people and dinner was held in one of Butch’s private dining rooms.

The evening started with a book signing and, after a brief introduction about the cookbook, we began our four-course meal.

Each of the courses was chosen by Chef Adam from one of four sections in the cookbook: soup, meat, pasta, and vegetarian.

Dessert was a yummy vegan chocolate cupcake provided by the baker at Uncommon Grounds in Saugatuck, Michigan, who also bakes for Butch’s.

The event was a fun way to share my experience with food allergies, which were first introduced to me by Bill.

Thanks to Butch for hosting the event–the first of its kind at his restaurant with a focus on food allergies–and showing how the restaurant values its customers by accommodating special dietary needs.

6 responses to “A Special Dinner

  1. I had NO idea! This is wonderful news…I would have loved to have been there. Spectacular news and so pleased for you! xoxo

    • I’m so grateful to Butch and Chef for their interest in collaborating. It was a fun event! I wish you could have come, too! Thanks for all your support, Leesie!

  2. What fun! Looks like a really special and delicious event. Mazel tov!

  3. Awesome, Marcia!! Saw some familar faces. I’ll have to check out the cook book. I think I know a couple of folks that would LOVE it. Soon!

Leave a Reply

