Grassfed Beef Sirloin Tip Roast


With our fresh mixed quarter of beef ready to pick up this fall, I wanted to make sure Bill and I used up any remaining cuts from last year’s store. One of those was a 3 1/2 pound sirloin tip roast, a cut that I rarely make. In fact, I had never bought one in the grocery store before switching to local grassfed meat.

My Joy of Cooking book, by Irma S. Rombauer and Marion Rombauer Becker, claims the sirloin tip roast needs a moist heat method for cooking. But I came across several recipes online that did not give directions for covering the meat. So I decided to forego Irma’s and Marion’s suggestion and tried this recipe called Savory Herb Sirloin Tip Roast.

I like recipes that call for a rub, and this rub was similar to the one we use on our grassfed ribeye steaks. The preparation and cooking are simple. It turns out like the traditional roast beef you might see at restaurants, something we don’t often eat since we get lots of chuck roasts, steaks, and ground beef in our mixed quarter.

As I’ve mentioned before, cooking grassfed beef is totally different from factory farmed beef. You have to be cautious with the cooking time because it’s much leaner. It’s best to err on the side of undercooking because beef will cook further as it rests. I only had this 3.5 pound roast in the oven for 90 minutes.

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1 sirloin tip roast, about 3 to 4 pounds
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 medium cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 to 1 1/2 teaspoons cracked black pepper or about 1/2 teaspoon coarsely ground pepper
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh rosemary, or about 1/2 teaspoon crumbled dried leaf rosemary
  • 1 tablespoon grated onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried leaf thyme

Preparation

Remove roast from any netting and place in a foil-lined roasting pan. (I used a shallow Le Creuset baking dish with a lid because it came in handy both during the prep stage in the fridge and in the resting phase when it came out of the oven.)

Combine remaining ingredients in a small bowl, mixing well.

Rub roast all over and tie with twine to keep it together if necessary. Cover and refrigerate for 1 to 2 hours.

Heat oven to 325°. Uncover the beef and place in the oven. Roast for about 25 minutes per pound, or until the roast is tender and done as desired. (As mentioned above, I did 1 1/2 hours for a 3.5 pound roast that was medium rare in the center and medium in the outer pieces.)

For medium-rare, the roast will register about 140° F. Remove from the oven and cover with foil (or lid). Let stand for 15 minutes before carving.
 Serves 6 to 8.

This time of year, what goes better with roast beef than roasted root vegetables?

11 responses to “Grassfed Beef Sirloin Tip Roast

  1. looks like a lovely dinner at home for you two! I’m hoping to get a beef share some day.

  2. Looks perfect! I also never handled sirloin tip roast until I started getting a 1/4 beef share. And you are a wise to cook to have cooked this lean roast with low, dry heat to enjoy it as a roast beef!

    • Thanks, Lynne, for your comment!
      I checked out your blog and it looks wonderful. I would love to subscribe but can’t find an email subscription, only RSS feed, which isn’t my usual medium. Can you post your blog links to your Rural Eating FB page? I’ve also added you in my Fellow Foodies blogroll!

  3. Looks nice for a dinner with the family. Nice work thanks for sharing.

  4. After refrigerating the roast, did you let the roast come up to temp. before putting it in the oven?

    • Yes, Tracy, I did take the roast out of the fridge before putting it in the oven…..maybe for about an hour?

  5. thanks! I am so excited to try this recipe! I am making it for my husband’s bday, along with chocolate souffle!

  6. Wow! I followed (most of) your instructions and we just had, hands down, the best roast of our lives! So tender it almost melted in our mouths, really amazing. And the flavours from that rub – oh wow!

    I’d already had the roast out of the fridge for 30 minutes when I found your recipe, so mixed up the rub and brushed it all over the roast. It sat on the counter a further 10 minutes, then went into the oven. Even without marinating time, this was fabulous!

    I think I’d do the same next time, but would take the roast out a good hour beforehand, as it needed an extra 10 minutes in the oven to reach 138 degrees.

    Thanks for our amazing dinner tonight – we’ll be using your method for years to come. 🙂

Leave a Reply

