Apple-Cranberry Crisp


Because I’m lucky enough to get fresh, local, organic cranberries in Holland, Michigan this time of year, I was looking for a recipe to use them in besides cranberry sauce. Bill suggested apple-cranberry crisp. And, wouldn’t you know it, there are tons of recipes on the web. I ended up choosing this one from AllRecipes.com.

I just altered a few things, such as using oat flour for all-purpose flour, safflower oil for butter, Jonathan apples for Granny Smith (since that’s what I had on hand), and walnuts for pecans (Bill’s preference in nuts).

I started with fresh local fruit: apples from the Holland Farmers Market and cranberries from The Berry Bunch.

First I mixed together the filling, then the topping.

Then I put the filling in a baking dish with the topping on top, of course.

Then I baked it at 375 F for 40 minutes.

Voila! If you have dairy allergies, try serving it with Soy Dream French Vanilla Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert. Maybe I’m just getting used to it, but I think it tastes pretty good!

4 responses to “Apple-Cranberry Crisp

  1. I may make this tonight to take to my mother-in-law’s as our dessert! Thank you for the wonderful recipe — looks scrumptious!

    Leesie

    • You know, it’s funny but I’m not fond of cooked apple desserts. I figured the cranberries would be a good addition. So I was surprised how delicious this dessert was! And it transports easily! Let me know how you like it, Leesie. Thanks for your comment!

  2. Thank you for this! I have a co-worker who can not have a lot of foods due to allergies and this is perfect! And it sounds delicious. 😀

Leave a Reply

