Dijon-Rosemary Lamb Steak


Bill and I picked up our lamb meat that we ordered from Lubbers Farm and there was a new cut in the collection: a lamb steak. I remember the first time I got a pork steak and wasn’t sure what to do with it. Turns out, it’s basically like a chop. So I decided to use a lamb chop recipe with the lamb steak we got for dinner this week.

I’ve had this recipe called “Dijon-Rosemary Lamb Chops” in my cookbook for a long time. It’s from a chef at the Bentwood Country Club in San Angelo, Texas. I had to adapt it since Bill can’t have wheat flour or cream. So here’s what I did:

I weighed the steak, which turned out to be two pieces. It was about two-thirds of a pound, which also meant doing a math adjustment for the recipe that called for four pounds of meat.

Then I spread Dijon mustard all over the meat.

And added chopped fresh rosemary from the pot on my breezeway.

Then I dredged the meat in brown rice flour and sprinkled it with salt and pepper.

In a skillet with hot olive oil, I seared the steaks on each side for four minutes.

Then I added some dry white wine and deglazed the pan, and put it (covered) in the oven at 300 degrees F for just two minutes. I let the meat rest for two more minutes.

The original recipe called for cream in the gravy, but I thought it was perfectly fine without!

Served with a side of canellini beans and braised lacinato kale, it was a simple, delicious meal. And, only a third of a pound of meat (or less, because that weight includes the bones) per person. We just don’t need to eat a lot of meat. A little good quality, local pastured meat is adequate–and healthy.

Leave a Reply

