Lavash Pizza with Bratwurst and Kale



I’m always looking for ways to whip up something quick and easy for dinner. My lavash pizza obsession is one way to solve the dilemma because the frozen Millet & Flax Lavash that Bill and I buy from Sami’s Bakery thaws quickly. So it’s just a matter of figuring out what to put on it.

We had a package of bratwursts from Creswick Farms that we recently got at the West Michigan Co-op. And I still had some curly kale in the garden. So here’s what I did….

First I braised the brats in a skillet to cook them through.

I let the water burn off in the skillet and added a little olive oil to brown them.

Meanwhile, I chopped the kale from my garden and steamed it, covered, in the microwave for one minute.

Then I sliced the brats and browned them again in the same olive oil and skillet.

Once they were done, I put them aside and sautéed half a large yellow onion, sliced, in the same pan.

When all the ingredients were ready, I browned the bottom side of two lavash pieces on a griddle.

Then it’s just a matter of assembly: First the onions, then the kale, then the brats, followed by some grated manchego sheep’s cheese.

The pizzas were browned under the broiler (set on low) on a cookie sheet for about 2-3 minutes. The idea is to brown the cheese and heat the pizza through.

Once it’s ready, just place the pizza on a cutting board and immediately cut into quarters.

One pizza makes a nice meal for one person.

Leave a Reply

