“Back to the Start”: A Thoughtful Short Film on Our Food System


I’m not a big fan of fast food, but I’ve heard good things about Chipotle Mexican Grill, the fast food chain that seeks “food with integrity,” which they define as “their commitment to finding the very best ingredients raised with respect for the animals, the environment, and the farmers.”

Check out this stop motion film the company did to emphasize the importance of developing a sustainable food system. Film-maker Johnny Kelly, commissioned by Chipotle, depicts the life of a farmer as he slowly turns his family farm into an industrial animal factory before seeing the errors of his ways and opting for a more sustainable future.

4 responses to ““Back to the Start”: A Thoughtful Short Film on Our Food System

  1. I too am unsure of what I think about Chipotle, but I do think that given our current system and national attitude, even if it’s a national chain doing something that isn’t exactly what we want, at least they can reach the masses and begin imparting an important message. And when on the road, I like that I can have a more responsible choice when surrounded by fast food joints.

  2. I have 5 children under the age of 11 and I cannot wait to show them this when they get home from school today. I am sure it will spark a discussion. I am all for anything that makes them more aware of the food they are putting in their body, Thank you. Jennifer Ohio

    • I wish I could take credit for the video. I think it’s a good one to share with kids because it’s so visual. I’d love to hear what they say about it! Thanks for your comment, Jennifer!

Leave a Reply

