Mediterranean Lavash Pizza with Lamb


I keep experimenting with millet and flax lavash pizza and I really think I’m onto something. Easy and gluten-free, lavash pizza has become a quick and creative dinner option for Bill and me.

This weekend I was inspired by the recipe for Lamb Souvlaki I’ve made before. Instead of putting the lamb and halloumi cheese on a tortilla with salad on top, I put the lamb and manchego cheese on the lavash, broiled it, and added a tomato/onion/olive topping. It was delicious!

First, I browned a half pound of lamb (for two pizzas) and added some cumin, dried oregano, and a pinch of cayenne pepper. (Vegetarians: Skip the lamb and you’ll still have an awesome pizza!)

Then I chopped up a small red onion from Boeve Farm and sautéed it.

In a separate bowl, I combined one chopped tomato, about half a tablespoon of olive oil, a dash of salt, a squeeze of fresh lemon, a little black pepper, a sprig, each, of fresh mint and oregano, two chopped green onions and about five kalamata olives, sliced.

After browning the bottom side of the lavash, I placed then on a baking sheet, added the ground lamb, onions, and some grated manchego cheese, then broiled the pizzas for 2 1/2 to 3 minutes.

After cutting them into quarters, I topped the pizzas with the tomato salad and served.

Leave a Reply

