When Garlic Scapes Are in Season


What is a garlic scape?

A few years ago I may not have been able to answer that question. But since I’ve become a locavore (whenever possible….it’s tough to be a pure locavore living in the North Country!), I’ve paid more attention to what’s available at my local farmers markets.

Well, it’s scape season! Garlic scapes are the shoots of the garlic bulb, edible and delicious in salads, pesto, on pizza, or simply sautéed.

I decided to roast mine with some asparagus, also in season here in Michigan right now, that I picked up along with the scapes from Eaters Guild–one of my favorite organic producers–at the Holland Farmers Market today, along with some fingerling potatoes from Visser Farms.

First I roasted the potatoes in olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes.

Then I added the scapes (chopped) to the oil and placed the asparagus on top.

I roasted the vegetable mixture another ten minutes.

Then served the vegetables alongside a Grilled Ribeye Steak that I picked up from Crane Dance Farm at the Holland Farmers Market this morning. I love it when they make the trek to Holland on Saturdays!

4 responses to “When Garlic Scapes Are in Season

  1. Very nice. I’m planning to make fried rice with them tonight!

  2. Thanks so much for the suggestion on how to cook with garlic scapes! I also bought some from the Eater’s Guild on Saturday, and have been thinking of ways to use them. So far I have chopped some up and put them in tuna salad – very successful. I will try them with asparagus – sounds yummy.

Leave a Reply

