Wheat-Free, Dairy-Free Rhubarb Crisp


I never make anything with rhubarb because most of the recipes I come across are desserts, and Bill and I really don’t eat many desserts. But rhubarb fascinates me–the color, the texture, and the fact that it’s one of the few bright red crops available right now in Michigan.

So this year I decided to make something with rhubarb.

I recently posted a vintage Rhubarb Upside Down Cake recipe from My Mother’s Recipe Box, but I’m not much of a baker, and that would have taken a lot of work to adapt the recipe for Bill’s wheat, dairy, and corn allergies. And, while I love the strawberry-rhubarb combination, strawberries aren’t available quite yet here. So I set out looking for a simple Rhubarb Crisp recipe and was happy to find one on Visser Farms’ blog. The Visser family has been a mainstay at the Holland Farmers Market for as long as I’ve been going. It’s possible they’re one of the original vendors.

Their recipe for Rhubarb Crisp is originally from the Practical Produce Cookbook. I’ve adapted the recipe to make it Bill-friendly, substituting wheat flour with oat flour and using safflower oil instead of butter. And I divided the ingredients by three since I only had two cups of rhubarb.

Wheat-Free, Dairy-Free Rhubarb Crisp

2 cups diced rhubarb

1/2 cup sugar

2 tablespoons oat flour

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup oatmeal

1/4 cup oat flour

1/3 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 cup safflower oil

Combine rhubarb with sugar and 2 tablespoons oat flour; place in a 8×8 cake pan or baking dish.

Combine the remaining ingredients and sprinkle over rhubarb.

Bake at 375 degrees for 45 minutes.

Leave a Reply

