48 Hours in Ann Arbor for Locavores: Part 3, Grange Kitchen & Bar


While in Ann Arbor last weekend for a wedding, Bill and I ventured to the Ann Arbor Farmers Market and Zingerman’s Deli on the first day in town. We had hoped to try Eve for dinner that night but the farm-to-table restaurant closed in January. However, I found Grange Kitchen & Bar in my farm-to-table restaurant search and promptly made a reservation for Saturday night.

We were delighted. Chef Brandon Johns is all about the philosophy toward food that I appreciate: “Chef Brandon Johns created Grange Kitchen & Bar with the idea that the freshest ingredients, grown sustainably and sourced from people we know are the basis for the best food. At Grange, our commitment to local and sustainable sources reflects both our commitment to the community and our commitment to bringing the best of the farm’s bounty to the table when it’s fresh and at the peak of its flavor. Join us for seasonal menus inspired by the fresh flavors of local farms and farmers’ markets.”

Yes! If I were to own and operate a restaurant, this is the way I would do it. Another thing I always appreciate is seeing the list of local farms that provide produce, meat, cheese, etc. to the restaurant. Our server informed us that food is sourced within 100 miles of Ann Arbor.

Here was the menu for May 28, 2011.

We started with the housemade charcuterie, accompanied by an Orange Blossom for me and a Sazerac for Bill.

Here’s what was on the charcuterie plate (if I remember correctly!): lardons, pork pate with asparagus, duck mousse, pickled vegetables, cured ham in molasses, onion jam, ginger apple butter, stoneground mustard, and caraway crackers.

For dinner, I had the Pan Roasted Pork Loin with Ramps, Fingerlings and Fried Eggs. It was unbelievable….flavor, texture, and temperature.

Bill had the Pan Roasted Duck Breast Sweet Potato Puree and Pickled Rhubarb.

And, it was ideal to be able to order a bottle of Michigan Pinot Noir from Brys Estate Vineyard & Winery.

We were so thrilled with our meal that we went back for brunch the next day!

I had seen the menu the night before and already had my eye on the Goat Cheese and Asparagus Omelette with Sausage and Fingerlings. I don’t know how the sausage was seasoned, but it was delicious. The whole meal was excellent and I enjoyed it with fresh squeezed orange juice and a glass of L. Mawby’s sparkling wine–another Michigan favorite.

Bill also loved the sausage; he had his with fried eggs and fingerlings.

Grange has quickly become one of my favorite restaurants. I wish we lived closer to Ann Arbor so we could go more often!

Leave a Reply

