From My Mother’s Recipe Box: Spring Baking Recipes


I subscribe to The Writer’s Almanac, so every day I get an email about what happened on this day in history and in the world of writers, e.g., what writers were born on this day and how he or she became a writer. It’s fascinating and inspiring.

Since today is Memorial Day, and it actually falls on May 30, the original Memorial Day, I read about how the holiday has morphed from “a holiday after the Civil War to honor the Union and Confederate soldiers who had died in battle” to “an extended honor” after World War I to honor all United States soldiers who died in any war to “the last Monday in May.” We can thank Congress’ 1968 Uniform Monday Holiday Act, which severed the link between Memorial Day and the original date. From there people have lost sight of the original meaning of the holiday–a day for reconciliation and honor. Instead, it has turned into “a holiday for families to remember anyone they have lost (veteran or otherwise), to lay flowers at gravesites, and, in later years, barbecue, shop, and watch the Indianapolis 500.” (Did you see the Indy 500 yesterday?)

I did have a father who was a veteran of WWII, and I thank him in my thoughts for his service, along with all the guys he fought alongside with in the European Theater. But I do like the way Memorial Day has become an opportunity for families to “remember anyone they have lost.”

So I’m going to honor my mother today (also deceased)–lest we forget the imprint our mothers have made upon us–with two recipes for spring. After all, wedding season is around the corner and who would want to miss serving Maid of Honor cake at their next bridesmaids’ tea?

Or, Rhubarb Upside Down Cake, with rhubarb at the peak of the season here in the North Country?

Does anyone know what Monarch Tea-Bisk is? All I can gather from the Web is that it’s like Bisquick–a ready-to-use baking mix for cakes, biscuits, pancakes, etc. I’m sure the Rhubarb Upside Down Cake recipe came from the producer of the Monarch Tea-Bisk since it’s specified as an ingredient.

4 responses to “From My Mother’s Recipe Box: Spring Baking Recipes

  1. I love the recipes you share from your mother’s recipe box. It is a lovely way to share a bit of her with us 🙂 I particularly like the ingredients to the Made of Honor cake and the simplicity of it.

    • Thanks, Leesie. I noticed that simplicity in vintage recipes quite frequently. Maybe that’s what I like about them! Sometime I’ll have to try a few of the recipes. Too bad I’m not more of a baker!

  2. What a great idea–sharing the actual hand-written recipes. Mind if I borrow that idea every now and then? 🙂 I have a bunch of my Mom’s recipes she’s passed along over the years. Sometimes the comments are better than the recipes!

    • Please do borrow the idea! It’s a fun way to learn about past cooking techniques and our culture. I’d love to see what you’ve got! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

