My Blueberry Muffin Experiment


As I’ve said before, I’m not much of a baker. But I have this stash of last summer’s blueberries in my freezer and have been trying to think of creative ways to use them. They are good in smoothies, but the skins don’t disintegrate well. (If you’re a texture girl like me, you probably don’t like blueberry skins in your teeth.) And, speaking of texture, frozen blueberries aren’t my favorite mixed with yoghurt either. (Fresh berries offer a completely different experience!)

Several of my friends suggested I make blueberry muffins. But that means measuring. Oy! I finally gave in, however, and made some last night. If I had been a true baker, I probably would have had paper muffin cups on hand. That would have made the process much easier! (Note to self for the next batch.)

My friend Lois sent me a recipe, which she says came from Fannie Farmer. So I looked up the recipe for “Muffins, Berry” in my own Fannie Farmer cookbook and found it.

The dilemma, as usual, was how to make it Bill-friendly. I followed some of my usual substitution rules: When a recipe calls for milk, use rice milk. When it calls for flour, use half brown rice and half oat flour. And when it calls for butter, use palm oil.

Another friend asked me recently, “What’s a good substitute for eggs?” I don’t have a good answer but I found a website called Kids with Food Allergies that had some good ideas. Fortunately, Fannie says you can actually omit the egg from this recipe! (If you try it, let me know how it turns out.)

Here’s the recipe I followed, with adaptations for people with wheat and dairy allergies.

Fannie Farmer’s Blueberry Muffins, Adapted for Food Allergies
2 cups flour (1 cup brown rice flour plus 1 cup oat flour)
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg, slightly beaten
1 cup rice milk
1/4 cup melted palm oil
1 cup frozen blueberries
Sugar to sprinkle on top

Preheat the oven to 375. Grease a muffin pan with palm oil. Sprinkle 1/4 cup of the flour over the blueberries.

In a large bowl, mix the remaining flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar.

In a small bowl, mix the egg, rice milk, and melted palm oil.

Make a well in the dry ingredients and add the liquid mixture, stirring only enough to dampen the flour.

Lightly fold in the blueberries.

Spoon batter into muffin pans, filling each cup about two-thirds full. Sprinkle each muffin with sugar.

Bake for about 20 minutes. Makes 12 muffins.

 

4 responses to “My Blueberry Muffin Experiment

  1. You didn’t tell us the most important part–how’d they taste?? They look good!

    • Melissa, they were good! Very moist, but they have the potential to fall apart, which is one reason it would be nice to have the muffin cups. Thanks for visiting!

  2. They look good! And how did they taste?

    As a baker and waste-avoider, I have a dozen silicone muffin-cup liners on hand–to use instead of paper. In case you really follow through and inch your way to baker-dom!

Leave a Reply

