Another Ground Beef Recall


I subscribe to email alerts from the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), and just about every day I receive an email about some recall. I should post them all, but I don’t have time to do five blog posts a day!

The ones about ground beef really get to me, though. It would be a lot better for everyone if feedlot meat were banned, especially when there seems to be a recall every couple of months or so (and those are the ones that are caught).

On February 5, the USDA’s Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) announced that American Food Service, in Pico Rivera, California, recalled approximately 3,170 pounds of fresh ground beef patties and other bulk packages of ground beef products that may be contaminated with E. coli O157:H7.

It’s difficult to avoid processed food in this country, for sure. But avoiding feedlot meat is a no-brainer. Read more about the dangers of feedlot meat to see if that’s the kind of burger you want to keep eating.

One response to “Another Ground Beef Recall

  1. Thanks for this post. You certainly don’t need to tell me about meat recalls, because I stopped eating that meat a while ago. However, I had never thought of subscribing to the USDA e-mail list. As much as the state of our industrial food system frustrates me, I must remember that it’s important to know your enemy! Which lists do you subscribe to? I just added myself to the “Human Health” list.

Leave a Reply

