Detox Doesn’t Mean Deprivation


Detox may sound like a fad diet–and aren’t they popular this time of year? But I totally believe in following this regimen at least once annually. Why? It just feels good!

What is detox, or detoxification? One definition calls it the physiological or medicinal removal of toxic substances from a living organism. While the medical community claims there are no health benefits from this process, I think it’s the perfect ritual to follow in the winter time–after the holidays when life calms down for most people. I call it “going dormant,” which is what most of nature does this time of year.

Last year I published a series of blog posts as I followed my detox regimen for five days, which concluded with a juice fast. Each year I tweak it a bit, but I thought I’d put the whole process in one blog post this year for the benefit of the people who are considering a detox plan. (Note: I am not a health professional; this is simply my perspective on how I can feel better each year, which I thought I’d share with my blog audience.)

Believe me, as the title of this post claims, detox doesn’t mean deprivation–unless you are severely addicted to alcohol, caffeine, sweets, fats, dairy, or wheat products–because they are the only foods I eliminate. But it does take some planning.

Even if you don’t want to follow a detox and juice fast plan for a week, I believe people can benefit by focusing on certain foods and avoiding others to give our organs a rest. So here’s the plan that I follow, along with links to recipes that I’ve already posted on my blog. I’d be interested to hear–if you try it–whether you feel more energetic afterward. And please share your detox tips and protocols with me!

*Note: All detox plans come with this caveat: You should always check with your doctor before embarking on a change in diet. These are simply my opinions based on information I’ve collected from a variety of sources.

Marcia Davis’ Detox Regimen

For five days, everyday:

  1. Drink one glass of warm water with fresh lemon juice.
  2. Eat each of these antioxidants:
    • 1 apple, carrot, or pear
    • 1 c. berries
    • 2-3 tablespoons ground flaxseed
    • 1-2 teaspoon psyillium husks in 8 oz. water (or take as capsule w/water above)
    • ½ c. broccoli, cabbage, or cauliflower
    • ½ c. chard, greens, or kale
    • 1 orange or juice of lemon or lime
    • 2 eggs, 1 clove of garlic, or ½ c. cooked onions
    • ½ c. cooked asparagus or 2 stalks of celery
    • 2 servings of protein or 2 tablespoons algae (or capsules)
    • 1-2 tablespoons flaxseed oil or olive oil
  3. Drink 70 oz. of water.
  4. Avoid:
    • Alcohol
    • Caffeine
    • Over-the-counter drugs
    • Fats
    • Processed food
    • Sugar
    • Artificial sweeteners
    • Gluten
    • Baked goods
    • Refined carbohydrates
    • Dairy products

Menu – Day 1

Breakfast
Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie; orange juice; decaf English breakfast tea (black)

Second Breakfast
2 hard-cooked happy eggs

Lunch
Quinoa Tabouli with organic red clover sprouts

Snack
2 stalks of celery and 1 large carrot, cut into sticks

Dinner
Lemon Chicken Smothered in Onions and steamed broccoli

Snack
Raspberries with ground flax seed and almond milk; chamomile tea

Menu – Day 2

Breakfast

Oatmeal with ground flax seed, blueberries, and soy milk; orange juice; Good Earth decaf chai (no milk)

Lunch

Salad greens from Mud Lake Farm with fresh lemon juice and olive oil, garbanzo beans, celery, and a hard-cooked egg

Dinner*
*Out – It’s okay to eat at a restaurant; I just had to make wise choices.
Fried perch; American fries; cole slaw

Snack
Peanut butter on Sami’s Bakery Millet & Flax toast; 1 apple; chamomile tea

Menu – Day 3

Breakfast
Raspberry Banana Smoothie; orange juice; Good Earth decaf chai (no milk)

Second Breakfast
1 hard-cooked happy egg

Lunch
Quinoa Tabouli on lettuce with hard-cooked happy egg; Wild Rice Soup

Snack
1 Michigan Honeycrisp apple

Dinner
Chicken PiccataKale Risotto; steamed broccoli

Snack
Peanut butter on Sami’s Bakery Millet & Flax toast; chamomile tea

Menu – Day 4

Breakfast
2 eggs fried in olive oil; one slice Sami’s Bakery Millet & Flax toast with strawberry jam; orange juice; decaf English breakfast tea (black)

Second Breakfast
1 banana

Lunch
Leftover Lemon Chicken Smothered in Onions; Wild Rice Soup; Kale Risotto

Snack
Blueberries with ground flax seed and almond milk; Alvita licorice root tea

Dinner
Cashew, Celery, and Cabbage Stir-Fry

Snack
One Michigan Honeycrisp apple

Menu – Day 5

Breakfast
Oatmeal with ground flaxseed, chopped apple, cinnamon and soy milk; orange juice

Tea Break
Temple of Health tea from Lemonjello’s

Lunch

Fresh lettuce from Mud Lake Farm with garbanzo beans, two hard-cooked happy eggs, olive oil and lemon juice; Wild Rice Soup

Dinner
Red Beans and Rice with ground turkey instead of pork; coleslaw with red onions and celery

Snack
Raspberries with ground flax seed and almond milk; chamomile tea

Marcia Davis’ Two-Day Juice Fast

Many people who do a juice fast will go two or three days on just juice, water, and other liquids. When I tried it one time I got really cranky and irritable. I wondered, why can’t I go without food for two days when there are people all over the world who are starving? All I can say is I’ve always had a high metabolism, so not eating is about the last thing my body deals with well. In the end, I compromised by adding some food to my juice fast regimen, which is really just a potent two-day antioxidant diet.

For the full menu, along with photos, check out last year’s blog post, “Juice Fast!“.


For more information on detox and juice fast regimens, check out last year’s blog post, “Resources for a Detox Diet.”

6 responses to “Detox Doesn’t Mean Deprivation

  1. Hey Marcia:
    Can I incorporate a nice roobois tea into the juice fast. I would like the antioxidant value of the tea into my fast. I love your five day fast and am going to try it for some increased energy. Thank you!

    • Hi Ian. Great to hear from you! I don’t see why you can’t incorporate roobois tea into a fast since it’s full of antioxidants and usually served with lemon. Just don’t add any milk and it should fit right in!
      Thanks for visiting my blog!

  2. Marcia, thanks for the reminder and a very comprehensive detox package. Thanks for saving my time to search. I trust your insights.

  3. Hi Marcia.
    After another day of sluggishness and overeating yesterday, detox is a perfect idea for me! I’m going to give your menu a try. Thank you.
    Diane

    • I’ll be interested to hear how it goes, Diane! Have fun with it and be sure to nurture yourself throughout the process.

Leave a Reply

