From My Mother’s Recipe Box: Sponge Cake


When was the last time you had sponge cake? For me, it was probably at a church function when I was a kid. I don’t know if anyone makes sponge cake anymore but I don’t make a point of seeking out a recipe for it since I’m not big on desserts. Yet, this Sponge Cake recipe from My Mother’s Recipe Box caught my eye because of its simplicity in ingredients and technique. Oh, and one little detail in the bottom right-hand corner of the card.

First, the simplicity: One of the reasons I’m posting these old recipes is because so many people, especially in the U.S., have lost the art of cooking. Sharing recipes on these 3×5 cards doesn’t seem as popular anymore either, with so many resources available on the internet. Look at how Mrs. Blanche McNamara typed up this recipe to make it fit on an index card. There aren’t many ingredients to begin with; on top of that, the instructions are short and easy to follow.

And, the detail at the bottom right-hand corner? Apparently Blanche goes by the nickname, “Mack.” Sure wish I had had the opportunity able to meet Mack.

6 responses to “From My Mother’s Recipe Box: Sponge Cake

  1. Thanks for this post (and the recipe)! I still have the recipe cards written in my grandmother’s handwriting. Handwritten recipe cards were a topic of study in a folklore class I took years ago in college, and we were encouraged to start our own collection of cards, including notes about who liked the recipe or from whom we had rec’d it originally. Funny…I’ve been looking for a recipe for sponge cake. Love your blog!

    • What a cool topic for a class! I think it’s great you have your grandmother’s recipe cards, too. Thanks for stopping by! Let me know if you try the sponge cake recipe and what you think!

  2. My daughter (Mackenzie–Mac?) will try it this week. We were hoping it would work with tiramisu since we’re having trouble finding ladyfingers. We’ll let you know how it turns out and try to blog about it!

  3. Pingback: Many Moons and Teaspoons Ago « namasteawhile

  4. “Mack” is probably short for McNamara.

    I tried the recipe…it didn’t turn out so well. I wish Mrs. Mack had specified a baking time! Mine was undercooked even when it rose up and looked golden, clean toothpick and all. It didn’t yield a whole lot either, too many eggs used for a double layer with jam filling! The whole thing was a mess.

    • A bake time would have been helpful, wouldn’t it? I’m not much of a baker so I can’t help you diagnose what happened but I’m sorry you had a mess on your hands! Thanks for your comment, and for trying Mack’s recipe!

Leave a Reply

