Tonight’s Special: Fried Grasshoppers


Photo via National Geographic

One major discussion going on currently is how the heck we’re going to continue to feed the nearly 7 billion people who populate this little planet called Earth. Switching to vegetarianism or even flexitarianism is a good first step for carnivores. But I was just reading in this month’s National Geographic magazine that the United Nation’s Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) thinks switching to insects is even better. Yes, Americans, insects. I’m including myself when I cringe at the thought of frying up beetles, crickets, grasshoppers, and ants for a meal, but the McCricket might be a likely substitute for the Big Mac one day. With 12.9 grams of protein per a 100-gram serving, how can you go wrong? 

For more protein, try the grasshopper, which is also loaded with phosphorous (238 mg) and packs 5 grams of iron as well as 35 mg of calcium. Or the water beetle, with 19.8 grams of protein, 14 mg of iron, 44 mg of calcium, and 226 mg of phosphorous. 

Plus, insects can be farmed more cheaply and on less land, which means we can likely feed the world on them. Problem is, Americans–and many cultures in the West–are just not used to eating bugs. It’s just a mindset adjustment, isn’t it? Are you game?

4 responses to “Tonight’s Special: Fried Grasshoppers

  1. Yummy!!! Eating insects is a very common practice here in Asia, with almost two thirds of the World’s population living here. They can be very tasty if done correctly. Another way to help feed the world is to adopt Native American practices of using every part of an animal. Here in China I have eaten almost every part of a duck, and many parts of a chicken and goose. The heart of a duck is actually very good if you simply grill it over a charcoal fire with a mixture of spices and oil. You can get four for about .25 cents.

    • I was glad to see your comment, Nate, knowing you are exploring all kind of foods in China right now. I think you are right on about the Native American approach to use every part of the animal. I know many hunters who follow that philosophy as well. There is a lot of nutrition in many animal parts. When you get the chance, share some of your insect eating experiences. Send photos if you can! Thanks for your comment!

  2. Actually I have tried them … and they are not that bad.. they taste some what like chicken. I have also tried fried big ants from the amazon, my dad brought them over from one of his trips there. The ants were quite big, or so they seemed,they were the size of your thumb nail, and tasted like good old bovril!
    I was offered Scorpions , but I must admit I did not have the courage to taste those…. Funny how your brain works

    • I’m impressed, Ingrid! I think I would also draw the line at scorpions! Thank you for sharing your experiences, and for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

