Wheat-Free Caprese Pizza* on Lavash


Pizza, by definition, is “a dish made typically of flattened bread dough spread with a savory mixture usually including tomatoes and cheese and often other toppings and baked.” So did I make a pizza tonight? I think I can call it that, except it was all done stove-top, not in the oven. (I know, this is sacrilegious for a Jersey Girl to do, but sometimes we just gotta make sacrifices!)

Bread dough: Sami’s Bakery Millet & Flax Lavash (Even if you’re not allergic to wheat or gluten, it’s a healthy choice: Check out the 5 grams of fiber in one serving!)

Toppings: goat cheese, Roma tomatoes, sliced thin (from S&V Country Market at the Holland Farmers Market), and fresh basil from my garden.

Just because you can’t eat wheat doesn’t mean you can’t eat a form of pizza. (I’m calling it “dairy-free” because Bill’s allergies are toward cow dairy products, not goat or sheep, but I realize that’s not the case for everyone.)

This is what I came up with because we had one leftover lavash in the fridge. Bill and I enjoyed it as an appetizer before dinner but you could make a larger one for a meal, or make several different kinds and share small plates. (I can’t wait to try other toppings sometime!)

Wheat-Free Caprese Pizza on Lavash

Here’s what you do:

Rub a little olive oil on a griddle and heat until quite hot. Put a lavash on the griddle to brown the bottom side.

If the edges curl up, place a large heavy skillet on top to weigh it down.

When the bottom is brown, turn off the heat. Rub the top of the lavash with a peeled garlic clove, cut in half. Then, spread some goat cheese on the top of the lavash and let it melt slightly.

Add some sliced Roma tomatoes on top. Sprinkle them with salt to bring out the flavor.

Put some fresh basil on top of the tomatoes. Drizzle the whole lavash with olive oil and add some fresh ground pepper. For the final touch, I added a few Sweet Pea Currant heirloom tomatoes from my garden.

Slice into individual pieces with a pizza cutter or large heavy knife.

This makes a nice hors d’oeuvres, or could serve one nicely for a meal.

*I grew up in Northern New Jersey and if there’s one thing I know about, it’s good pizza. (Sorry to sound like a snob here, but I just think the New Jersey/New York region of the U.S. has the best pizza!) Every time I go back East, I stop at my favorite pizzeria, Oakland Pizza. But, at our house, pizza is basically off my menu since Bill is allergic to cow’s milk, so this is the next best thing for us!

5 responses to “Wheat-Free Caprese Pizza* on Lavash

  1. love this recipe idea!
    can you please tell me where to find the lavash bread you used?
    is there a store in nyc or williamsburg that carries this item? i would love to try it! reeeally look forward to hearing from you 🙂

    • Hi Stephanie,
      The lavash product we use is made by Sami’s Bakery out of Tampa, FL, which supplies many millet and flax products to a couple of our local health food stores in West Michigan. Lavash is a Middle-Eastern style flat bread so I’m guessing if you wanted the authentic stuff you could get it easily at a Mid-East bakery in NYC. If you need the gluten-free type, I’d suggest contacting Sami’s and ask what stores they supply near you. Here’s their website: http://www.samisbakery.com/index.cfm.
      I think Whole Foods carries it. Also, you could order it by mail from Sami’s if you wanted to and then store it in your freezer if you have to buy a large quantity.
      Let me know what you find in NYC! Thanks for your comment!

  2. Pingback: Sunday Night Is Pizza Night | Life Is Fare

  3. Pingback: How to Eat Healthy on $5.00 a Day: Day 2 | Life Is Fare

  4. Pingback: Spring Lavash Pizza | Life Is Fare

Leave a Reply

