A Taste of Holland Farmers Market at CityVū Bistro


 

At the Holland Farmers Market Chef Series last month, Chef Shelly Rash talked about the importance of fresh ingredients in cooking. I couldn’t agree more–especially when that approach is taken at a restaurant. 

Shelly is Executive Chef at CityVū Bistro, a Holland, Michigan rooftop eatery in the City Flats Hotel, the first hotel in the Midwest to achieve LEED Gold Certification.  

Photo via City Flats Hotel

It’s the perfect combination: a hotel that emphasizes sustainability in its facility and a restaurant that changes its menu with the seasons to utilize fresh local ingredients whenever possible. 

The last time I ate there, I hadn’t started my blog so this time I paid a lot more attention to the menu. And because I’m a planner, I checked it out online before I went–partly because I love anticipating what I’m going to eat for dinner, and partly because I’m better prepared to ask questions when I get there. So I was pretty sure I was going to try one of the special seasonal dishes in the “Taste of Holland Farmers Market” panel on the right side of the menu. 

 

But first–because I was there with some very special friends–we ordered appetizers and libations. I chose the Blueberry Cosmopolitan with blueberry vodka, lime juice, Cointreau, cranberry juice, and fresh local blueberries. (I asked!) 

The blueberries in the glass: 

 

Then the Cosmo is poured in. This just might be my new favorite drink (at least while blueberries are still available)! 

 

For dinner I had the Grilled Lake Superior Walleye with Warm Purple Cabbage Slaw and Sweet Corn Relish, shown above. It’s true: Fresh vegetables have the best flavor. Check out the relish up close.

My friend Cindy opted for the Grilled Vegetable Lasagna, which looked delicious and she confirmed it was. 

 

And, if you order a flatbread, you might like to know that the whole wheat flour in its base is stone-ground at De Zwaan Windmill, right in Holland, Michigan.

What I thought was lacking, however, were meat dishes made with grassfed meat. Offering more healthful, sustainable meat options would make this carnivore really happy!

Leave a Reply

