Where to Find the Finest Farm-to-Table Restaurants in the U.S.


While planning an upcoming trip to Washington, D.C., I Googled “farm to table restaurants” and “Washington, D.C.” and stumbled upon this website: American Farm to Table–the “best U.S. restaurants committed to local farms and farmers’ markets.”

Although the site’s restaurant list isn’t as large as I had hoped, it’s still a useful resource. That’s because it targets “the very best restaurants in the United States that share an ongoing commitment to using primarily naturally-raised and organic ingredients sourced directly from local farms and farmers’ markets.” Founder Maurice Graham Henry, managing editor and the founder of INTERNAIRE (the parent holding company of the American Farm to Table Restaurant Guide) states his most important priority when selecting restaurants is excellence: excellence in cooking and in service. 

It’s no wonder two of my favorites,  Blue Hill at Stone Barns in Westchester County and Blue Hill Manhattan, were on the list under New York state. However, I was disappointed to see only one restaurant listed for Michigan (Eve, in Ann Arbor). 

The site lists several restaurants in the D.C. area, although Bill and I are hoping to stay in town. We’ve got our eyes on Restaurant Nora–near Dupont Circle–where, coincidentally, the Obamas occasionally dine. (This makes total sense to me since Michelle Obama was behind the Know Your Farmer, Know Your Food initiative that began last fall.) 

Guess we’d better make our reservation soon!

2 responses to “Where to Find the Finest Farm-to-Table Restaurants in the U.S.

  1. This is great. I will definitely have to check out the American Farm to Table website. Thanks for the info! I enjoy reading your blog (even though I’m not from Michigan!) 🙂

    • I’m glad you enjoy my blog! I try to make it as global/national as possible, although “buying local” often keeps me focused on West Michigan since that’s where I live. I love to travel, though, so I’m always looking for good locavore eateries!

Leave a Reply

