From My Mother’s Recipe Box: Rose Hip Jam


When I was younger, I spent my summers along the coast of Rhode Island, where half my family is from. I remember the Rosa Rugosa growing along the beach and next to the beach houses. Pink flowers in summer yielded rosy red hips at the end of the summer season. And with rose hips, came rose hip jam.

Here’s a recipe from my mother’s recipe box. (Last month I said I’d post some of the recipes from this box over the next several months.) This one is from my grandmother, Ruth Sayer, who grew up in California but lived in Rhode Island most of her life after she married my grandfather.

Rose Hip Jam

2 responses to “From My Mother’s Recipe Box: Rose Hip Jam

  1. It brings back childhood memories. It is so very delicious and rich in Vitamin C. Any idea where they grow around Holland, MI?

    • I think you could use any rose hips but the ones I remember from out East are Rosa Rugosa. This species does exist in Michigan!

Leave a Reply

