Don’t Let Your Collards Grow Up to Be Seed Pods


Last year I had great success with collards in my garden–even better than great because the collards seemed to stick around right through winter and into spring. I thought I had it made: Here was a plant that would yield flat, beautiful, leafy greens year-round.

Along came summer and it was obvious my collards were not interested in producing those beautiful leaves. They were intent on flowering, which meant they were focused on their original purpose–just like the rest of us–for being on this earth: reproduction.

By June, there were no leaves in sight. Instead, I’m awaiting the birth of seeds from hundreds of pods at the tips of the collard stems.

Is it a sacrifice for me? Wait and see. I predict the seeds will drop this summer and I’ll have baby collards growing all over the garden. If I’m lucky, they’ll leaf out in early autumn, which is the prime time (in addition to early spring) to pick the leaves because cool weather drives the sugar into them, making them tender and sweet.

For now, I wait. Patience does have its virtues, I suppose, even though I’m sacrificing a heck of a lot of garden space for the reproduction of collards.

The maxim “Live and learn” comes to mind! Thought I’d share my experience with any of you gardeners who might be interested!

Leave a Reply

