How to Freeze Blueberries


Last month I discovered the easy way to freeze strawberries, so I could preserve local, seasonal berries from the Holland Farmers’ Market for winter enjoyment. Now it’s blueberry season in Michigan, so get them while they’re fresh! 

My friend Lois is the one who tipped me off to this idea originally. It’s so basic and simple, although it does help to have some freezer space, or a friend with freezer space.

Just buy a few quarts–or as many as you can manage to freeze–at your local market or blueberry farm. Wash them and let them dry on a towel. Then spread them out on wax paper on baking sheet or other large pan.

Stick them in the freezer over night, then dump the whole batch into a ziplock bag for storing.

Because they’re initially frozen separately, they don’t stick together so you can just grab a handful as you need them–for smoothies, oatmeal, or yoghurt!

6 responses to “How to Freeze Blueberries

  1. You’re ahead of me again, Marcia! I can’t get ahead of the blueberry eaters in the house, so I haven’t frozen yet. But one more tip–I measure the frozen berries into 1-cup containers to freeze, because that’s how many berries my favorite muffin recipe calls for. And we lose power often enough that… occasionally the berries will melt just a little and stick together if I freeze them in one mass. Yum! I’m inspired once again.

  2. I have started the same method for raspberries. However, not because of later use but my young summer guests enjoy eating frozen raspberries.

    • Yes, this process works for raspberries as well. I started some when they first arrived at the market last month and will preserve a lot more during the fall season!

  3. This is how I do it too!! We are quick trying to finish off the last bag of blueberries from last year since they came early this year and I mis-calculated our blueberry needs 🙂

    • I can’t wait until January when I can dig in to my local blueberry stash! For now, I’m eating them fresh with everything!
      Thanks for your comment, Jen!

Leave a Reply

