Roadtrip Tortas


Here’s a great recipe to make when you’re traveling so you don’t have to eat at those unhappy fast food restaurants. It’s also a great way to use up that big vat of Cuban black beans you might have in the fridge. I like it because it reminds me of the tortas (Mexican sandwiches) that I used to eat when I lived in Mexico. In West Michigan, you can also find them at many of the Mexican restaurants in the area, such as Margarita’s–one of my faves.

This recipe comes from Bon Appetit. It’s called Mexican-Style Chicken Sandwiches. (I crossed out the chicken on my printed version because it calls for chicken breasts and I can’t find happy chicken breasts around. You could certainly use leftover roast chicken for this recipe.) I used leftover black beans that I made from scratch rather than a can of beans, and Queso Fresco instead of Monterey Jack cheese. It’s actually a hot sandwich but I think it’s just as good cold, especially if you’re on a long road trip!

When my friend Sandy and I were camping last weekend, we stopped at Stone House Bread in Leland, Michigan, where we picked up mini-baguettes for the tortas. After slicing them, we put a schmear of the beans on the bottom half of the roll and a hefty schmear of the mayo mixture on the top half.

After that, we layered all the other ingredients–avocado, tomato, and cheese, plus a garnish of fresh cilantro.

And, if you’re picnicking, don’t forget a beverage. We finished off some Stone House Semi-Dry Cherry Apple Cider from Douglas Valley Organic Vineyards, located in Manistee.

There’s nothing like a picnic along Lake Leelanau!

2 responses to “Roadtrip Tortas

  1. YUM! *everything* sounds wonderful…hope you enjoyed as much as I loved looking and drooling 😉

Leave a Reply

