The New Street Vendor: Eco-Friendly and Organic


While wandering through Washington Square Park in New York City a couple weeks ago, I happened to pass by the Cake & Shake dessert cart. What caught my eye was their story on the back side of the cart:

I know it’s hard to read (I took the photo with my phone) but it basically says that they use 100% organic eggs, milk, sugar, butter, and flour in their cupcakes; 100% real fruit and real fruit flavoring in their shakes; their paper products are made from 100% recycled paper; and their plastics–including straws and cupcake wrappers–are biodegradable. Plus, the cart itself is fueled by vegetable based bio diesel fuel.

No guilt in indulging here! I wish I had stopped for a sweet at the time. 

According to the New York Daily News, Gina Ojile and Derek Hunt, a couple from Queens, created all the recipes for the cupcakes. Open from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m., seven days a week in Washington Square Park, the couple hopes to have eight carts up and running throughout Manhattan. The next one will be stationed outside the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Next time I’m in the city, I plan to stop by!

Leave a Reply

