Pork Steak on the Grill


During oven season, which–in Michigan–runs from about September through May, Bill and I like to braise pork steaks, which we have been buying from Creswick Farms through the West Michigan Co-op until we get our meat order at Lubbers Farm later this summer.

Now that it’s grilling season, I wondered how I could cook pork steaks outside, since they are a relatively new entity in my world. (I’d never heard of them until I bought half a pig a couple years ago). 

Last weekend I got this idea: Why not grill a pork steak the way we grill a ribeye? Both steaks are from grassfed animals so the key is to grill them for a short period of time. Bill insists the one-minute sear per side is key, and I agree–that’s how it stays moist.

At first I was inspired by Muzzy’s Magic Texas BBQ Rub, which is made of: sugar, chili pepper, paprika, salt, garlic, onion, celery, cumin, and black pepper. With sugar as the lead ingredient, it was a bit sweet for me, so I decided to use the rub in combination with the Grilled Grassfed Ribeye Steak recipe I posted in March. Here’s how I improvised:

I mixed the rub with about a teaspoon more paprika, then added some more salt, cumin, and a pinch of cayenne pepper. After rubbing the meat with garlic and olive oil, I sprinkled the spice rub on both sides.

For the pork steak, we seared each side for one minute on a very hot grill (around 500 degrees) with the center burner off. Then we cooked each side for 3 minutes (for a one-pound,  3/4-inch steak). After that, we let it rest, covered, for at least 5 minutes.

Instead of the balsamic-caper vinaigrette from the recipe, I simply squeezed some fresh lime juice on the meat before serving. We couldn’t believe how juicy the meat was!

For sides, we had saffron risotto and roasted asparagus (done in foil on the grill before we put the meat on).

Voila!

2 responses to “Pork Steak on the Grill

  1. LOL… that 1/2 pig must have come from O’Brien’s. Pork steak is a St Louis colloquialism. A pseudo relative that moved from downstate to Chicago 30 years ago couldn’t understand why he couldn’t find them in the stores. And grilling is actually the PREFERRED method of prep, so you did good!!! A rose by any other name…

    • Hey Scott, good to hear from you!

      Yes, the half pig came from O’Brien’s. I really miss Providence Farms! But we are happy with Creswick meat as well. Thanks for the info. on the pork steak origin. I had no idea the name came from St. Louis!

Leave a Reply

