Beef Bourguignon with Parsley Potatoes


Last weekend I wanted to roast something in the oven since the weather is still on the cool side and I have several cuts of meat in the freezer that require slow-cooking.

There were quite a few beef chuck roasts, plus I had some dry red wine on hand. Putting two and two together, I decided upon Beef Bourguignon because I had all the other ingredients the recipe called for, too.

In my binder of recipes, I have several variations on this beef stew with wine, but landed upon Bon Appetit’s Beef Bourguignon recipe from May 1994. 

As usual, I improvised and have made those notations below.

Beef Bourguignon from Bon Appetit

Serves 8.

Ingredients:

8 ounces bacon, coarsely chopped
3 pounds well-trimmed boneless beef chuck, cut into 1 1/2-inch cubes (from 7-bone chuck roast)
1/3 cup all purpose flour (to accommodate Bill’s wheat allergy, I used brown rice flour)
1 1/4 pounds boiling onions, peeled (I used yellow onions, sliced)
3/4 pound large carrots, cut into 1-inch pieces
12 large garlic cloves, peeled (left whole)

3 cups canned beef broth
1/2 cup Cognac or brandy
2 750-ml bottles red Burgundy wine
1 1/4 pounds mushrooms (I skipped mushrooms because I don’t care for them)
1/3 cup chopped fresh thyme or 2 tablespoons dried
1 tablespoon dark brown sugar (Next time I’d leave the sugar out)
1 tablespoon tomato paste

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 325°F. Sauté bacon in heavy large Dutch oven over high heat until brown and crisp, about 8 minutes. Using slotted spoon, transfer bacon to paper towels. Season beef generously with salt and pepper; coat with 1/3 cup flour, using all of flour. Working in 3 batches, brown beef in same pot over high heat, about 5 minutes per batch.

Transfer meat to large bowl. Add onions and carrots to same pot and sauté until light brown, about 6 minutes.

Add garlic and sauté 1 minute. Transfer vegetables to bowl with beef.

Add 1 cup broth and Cognac to pot; boil until reduced to glaze, scraping up browned bits, about 8 minutes.

Return meat and vegetables and their juices to pot. Add wine, mushrooms, thyme, sugar, tomato paste, 2 cups broth, and bacon.

Bring to boil, stirring occasionally. Cover pot and place in oven. Cook until beef is tender, about 1 hour 20 minutes.

(The next step wasn’t necessary for me since the stew was thick enough when it was done.)

Ladle liquid from stew into large saucepan. Spoon off fat. Boil liquid until reduced to 2 3/4 cups, about 40 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Pour liquid back over beef and vegetables. (Can be prepared 1 day ahead. Cover and chill.) Rewarm over low heat before serving.

I accompanied the stew with parsley potatoes (Yukon potatoes boiled until tender, then topped with olive oil and fresh flatleaf parsley). Another option, for those who don’t have wheat allergies, might be egg noodles.

2 responses to “Beef Bourguignon with Parsley Potatoes

  1. Greetings,

    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog. And I have been wanting to make a Beef Bourguignon since I saw the movie Julie & Julia a few months back. My son has gluten and dairy allergies and I can no longer have refined sugar/honey or wine. What might you suggest I substitute for the liquor?

    Thank you,
    Corliss

    • Wow, that’s a tough one, Corliss. As for the cognac, I would skip it completely. But wine? I know the role it plays with meat is tenderizer because of its acidity. So a possible substitute might be vinegar but I don’t know if that’s off your list as well? I did find a website that has lots of great substitution ideas but I don’t know if they work with your regime or not. Check this out and let me know if you find it helpful: http://www.gourmetsleuth.com/Articles/Wine-and-Alcohol-644/alcohol-substitutes.aspx. I’d be curious to know if any of the options work for you.

      Thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

