On the Veranda in Apalachicola


One thing Bill and I enjoy doing when we travel is exploring different types of food and trying new restaurants. Although my mullet experience didn’t pan out too well in the Florida Panhandle, we did enjoy our dinner at Verandas Bistro overlooking downtown Apalachicola.

While their dinner menu offers a variety of local favorites, I opted for one of the specials that night: Flounder with Shrimp in a Pesto Artichoke Cream Sauce. Rick, our host, said the fish was caught that day and I hadn’t had flounder–one of my favorite kinds of fish–since we had been in Florida. This was our last dinner on Florida’s Forgotten Coast so it was a nice way to celebrate our vacation–along with a good bottle of 2006 Goldeneye Pinot Noir.

Chef Ian Williams really knows how to put flavors together. On top of that, both Bill and I appreciated the option for wild rice as the accompanying starch to our meal because, so often in the South, the choices are potatoes, grits, and hushpuppies. (Not that there’s anything wrong with that! But, I had had my fill by then and Bill’s food allergies restrict him from grits and any food with cream or cheese in it.) A side of zucchini and mushrooms complemented the meal.

Can’t wait to go back next year!

2 responses to “On the Veranda in Apalachicola

  1. Thank you so much Marcia! I regret that I was unable to come out and meet you and Bill. Please let me know when you come again! I would love to meet you both. Also, I love your blog. Thanks again!

    • You’re welcome, Ian! We do plan to come again next year so we’ll let you know when we’re in town again.

Leave a Reply

