Brownies for Almost Anyone


If you’re allergic to wheat, dairy, and/or corn, like my husband, Bill, I’ve got the brownie recipe for you.

It’s from Southern Living magazine, but I’ve adapted the recipe to accommodate his allergies.  One substitution I made was organic vegetable shortening (100% palm oil) for the butter.

And I used a blend of oat flour and brown rice flour (2/3 oat, 1/3 rice) instead of all-purpose flour.

Here’s the original recipe. (Note: I don’t have an 8″ aluminum pan so I used a baking dish. I also didn’t see the point in lining the dish with foil so I omitted that step.)

So Good Brownies

Makes 16 servings.

4  (1-oz.) unsweetened chocolate baking squares
3/4  cup  butter
1 1/2  cups  granulated sugar
1/2  cup  firmly packed brown sugar
3  large eggs
1  cup  all-purpose flour
1  teaspoon  vanilla extract
1/8  teaspoon  salt

Preheat oven to 350°. Line bottom and sides of an 8-inch pan with aluminum foil, allowing 2 to 3 inches to extend over sides; lightly grease foil. (The foil is optional, in my opinion.)

Microwave chocolate squares and butter (or palm oil shortening) in a large microwave-safe bowl at HIGH 1 1/2 to 2 minutes or until melted and smooth, stirring at 30-second intervals.

Whisk in granulated and brown sugars.

Add eggs, one at a time, whisking just until blended after each addition. Whisk in flour (using oat and brown rice flours for wheat allergies), vanilla, and salt.

Pour mixture into prepared pan.

Bake at 350° for 40 to 44 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out with a few moist crumbs.  (Baking time was more like 50 minutes for me, but that could be from variations in the oven, the flours I used, and/or the baking dish.)

Cool completely on a wire rack (about 1 hour). Lift brownies from pan, using foil sides as handles. Gently remove foil, and cut brownies into 16 squares.

Leave a Reply

