Resources for a Detox Diet


So I’ve been at it for seven days now: five days of detox regimen followed by a weekend of fasting.

In my first post about detox, I said I’d share any references I have with you about how I go about this ritual of detoxification.

Really, I’ve just read a lot of articles and saved them in a binder, then adapted a regimen that works well for me. (To find out what I ate each day, you can link to each of the posts: Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, and the last one called “Juice Fast!“)

My primary sources for articles about detox, including guidelines for regimens, are Taste for Life magazine and Natural Health magazine, both of which I pick up for free at my local natural/organic food stores (Nature’s Market and Harvest Health Foods).

Here are some other resources I’ve come across in my reading, which might help you if you’re interested in starting your own ritual:

On the Web

Delicious Living magazine (also a freebie at the above-mentioned stores)

WebMD: Natural Liver Detox Diets

Balance for Wholesome Living website: Brown Rice Fast

Americanyogini.com

Books

14-Day Herbal Cleansing by Laurel Vukovic

The Detox Diet by Elson S. Haas, M.D (also The New Detox Diet)

The Body Toxic by Nena Baker

The Fast Track Detox Diet by Ann Louise Gittleman, PhD, CNS

The Gut Flush Plan by Ann Louise Gittleman, PhD, CNS

The Detox Strategy by Brenda Watson, CNC

The Complete Book of Juicing by Michael T. Murray

Toxic Relief by Don Colbert, MD

I’d love to know if any of these resources are useful. Drop me a line with your comments if you’ve read them!

Leave a Reply

