Juice Fast!


I don’t know about you, but using the word “fast” in the same sentence as “food” has never appealed to me. It either means eating fast, eating fast food, or fasting. None of those definitions work well with my lifestyle. Which is why I cringed when I wrote the title, “Juice Fast.” But, fasting is a necessary part of the detox process. And I know I’ll feel great on Monday when it’s all over.

As I told Bill this morning, I think it’s good to discipline oneself every once in awhile. Compared to the aftermath of an earthquake like Haiti just experienced, being deprived of food for a day is nothing. At least I have water.

Still, it’s physically difficult. So when I developed my weekend fasting regimen, I decided I would incorporate some food items.

For one reason, the juice fast regimen I used last year suggested drinking a green juice (lettuce, kale, etc.) first thing in the morning. (When I tried it the first time I almost threw up.) So what I’ve done is to combine two regimens that seem to work well for me: a one-day juice fast recipe I found in Taste for Life magazine a few years ago and a 2-day “diet detox” from Natural Health magazine.

Note: It’s important to prepare for the fasting weekend with a week of detoxing, which I started on Monday (Day 1).

Here’s the regimen I’m following this weekend:

Saturday

Upon rising: Drink two glasses of warm water with fresh squeezed lemon juice plus a psyllium husk capsule. (This gets things moving, if you know what I mean.)

8 a.m. – Breakfast
Mix unsweetened cranberry juice, filtered water, fresh squeezed lemon juice, fresh squeezed orange juice, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and 2 T. ground flax seed.

For the oranges and lemons, I ran them through my Breville juicer, which I would use more frequently if I only had the counter space or pantry to store it in. It’s a great way to get the nutrients from fruits and vegetables in a glass.

 Alternate drinking juice and filtered water every hour until dinner.

10 a.m.  – Prepare broth for dinner

In a large stockpot, combine:

2 cloves of garlic

1-inch piece of ginger

2 yams

1 onion

2 stalks celery

1 carrot

1 T. chopped parsley

1 medium acorn squash, skinned and diced (I used a butternut squash since that’s what I had on hand)

½-inch strip of kombu (sea kelp – yes, the stuff you see on the beach at the ocean)

Cover with 10 cups of water and cook over low heat stirring occasionally for 3-4 hours. Let cool.

Strain and save liquid for broth; discard veggies except squash. In a blender, mix squash with some of broth to create a liquid consistency then add back to broth. Add salt to taste as well as some cayenne. Set aside to cool.

Noon – Lunch
In lieu of the aforementioned green juice, prepare a fiber-rich salad consisting of: spinach, sprouts, avocado, tomatoes, cucumbers. Dress with olive oil, lemon juice and salt.

3 p.m. – Snack
1-2 T almonds; licorice root (or ginger or chamomile or peppermint) tea

6 p.m. – Dinner
Have a bowl of warm broth and another salad.

For a little more substance, add some quinoa.

Sunday

Upon rising: Drink two glasses of warm water with fresh squeezed lemon juice plus a psyllium husk capsule. 

8 a.m. – Breakfast
Make a smoothie with 2 cups almond milk, 1 cup berries and 2 T. ground flax seed.

Noon – Lunch
Steam some broccoli and onions; (add raw beets if you can stomach them) add raw cabbage for some crunch. Toss in some greens such as  romaine, spinach or red leaf; drizzle with olive oil and lemon.

3 p.m. – Snack
Have a shot of wheatgrass (or take tablets) or eat some Brazil nuts

6 p.m. – Dinner
Make some Miso Soup; add brown rice on the side as well as a fresh spinach salad with avocado.

One other note: It’s important to rest during these two days so I cleared my calendar, shut off the phone and only got on the computer to write my blog. The rest of the weekend consists of light exercise, such as walking and yoga; meditation; reading; and sleep.

And it’s important to ease back into regular eating habits slowly so I’ll follow a regimen similar to last week’s detox for the first few days.

Leave a Reply

