Wild Rice Soup


Yesterday for lunch, as part of my detox regimen for Day 3, I enjoyed some homemade Wild Rice Soup. It’s about the simplest thing you could ever make.

As I mentioned in my recipes for Lemon Chicken Smothered in Onions and Chicken Piccata, I cut up a happy chicken earlier this week in order to have the appropriate chicken parts on hand for the recipes I planned to make. What did I do with the rest of the chicken? Simmered it for about an hour or two in water to make stock. That’s the stock I used in the following recipe.

Wild Rice Soup

2 carrots, sliced

2 ribs of celery, chopped

1 medium onion, chopped

Olive oil for sautéing

1/2 cup wild rice

4 cups chicken stock

Fresh parsley, chopped

Salt and pepper to taste

Place vegetables with some olive oil in large saucepan or stock pot over medium heat. Saute until tender.

Add stock and rice. Bring to a boil. Cover pan with lid and simmer on low heat about 40 minutes. Add parsley. Salt and pepper to taste.

Voila!

Leave a Reply

