Raspberry Banana Smoothie


Smoothies are one of my favorite breakfast meals, especially on days when I’m trying to cram in exercise before I go to work in the morning. Sometimes, there’s nothing better than drinking down your breakfast.

Normally, I prefer a plain raspberry smoothie but I made this one during my winter detox so I omitted the emulsifier, yoghurt. Since a smoothie needs an emulsifier to hold it all together, I opted for a banana–the next best thing to yoghurt, and a nice addition if you like this combination of fruit.

I generally don’t make raspberry smoothies in winter because you can’t get good local raspberries like I’m used to from the farmers’ market. Because I needed berries for my detox, I opted for frozen raspberries, hoping they came from somewhere in Michigan since the source wasn’t written on the bag. Either fresh or frozen berries work fine in a smoothie.

Raspberry Banana Smoothie

3/4 cups soy milk

1/2 cup raspberries

1 small banana

Splash of orange juice

Optional: 1/2 cup vanilla yoghurt

Optional: 2 T. ground flax seed (more fiber means you won’t get hungry too quickly afterward)

Leave a Reply

