Chicken Piccata


Chicken Piccata is one of my favorite meals but I’ve been deprived of it ever since I stopped eating convenient industrialized chicken breasts last fall.

As I mentioned in my recipe for Lemon Chicken Smothered in Onions, I cut up a whole chicken last weekend in order to have the parts available to me this week for my detox menus. I used all the dark meat for the Lemon Chicken recipe. And now for the white meat.

There are two modifications to this recipe, which I basically made up after eating Chicken Piccata many, many times:

1) I use brown rice flour for dredging because Bill is allergic to wheat.

2) I’ve included dry white wine in the ingredient list but abstained from it today as part of my detox protocol. Instead, I used chicken stock to deglaze the pan.

Chicken Piccata

Serves 2.

Two happy chicken breasts and tenderloins, skin removed

Brown rice flour (or other flour depending on your dietary restrictions)

Olive oil for sautéing

One clove garlic

Dry white wine, such as Sauvignon Blanc (or water or chicken stock)

Fresh squeezed lemon juice

Optional: lemon slices and capers for garnish

Smash and peel a clove a garlic, then cut in half. In a large skillet, sauté garlic in olive oil over medium heat until golden. Remove garlic from pan.

Meanwhile, salt and pepper chicken, then dredge in flour.

Over medium-high heat, brown chicken on both sides, about 3-4 minutes per side. Remove chicken from pan.

Add wine (or water or stock) and deglaze pan. Add fresh squeezed lemon juice and stir. Return chicken breasts to pan and coat with sauce. Cover and cook until done, about 10 minutes.

Garnish with lemon slices and capers.

Leave a Reply

