Lemon Chicken Smothered in Onions


When I posted last night’s Detox Menu, I listed Lemon Chicken Smothered in Onions as the main course for dinner. Below is the recipe I conjured up to get my protein (and onion) quota for the day.

(One note about the chicken: I no longer buy convenient industrialized chicken breasts, and getting chicken breasts as a separate entity is nearly impossible. So I’ve given up on this convenient food item and, if I decide I want chicken parts, I cut up one of the happy chickens from Lubbers Farm that we store in our freezer. That’s how I got drumsticks, wings, and thighs for the following recipe. Tomorrow, I’ll use the breast meat.)

Lemon Chicken Smothered in Onions

One chicken, cut up into pieces, skin removed

1 large onion, or several smaller ones, sliced in small wedges

Fresh squeezed lemon juice

Olive oil for sauteing

Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Heat olive oil in large ovenproof skillet over medium-high heat. Sear each piece of chicken, about 3-4 minutes per side. Remove chicken and keep warm.

Add more olive oil to pan if needed to saute onions until golden.

Push onions aside and squeeze some lemon juice into pan to deglaze. Stir onions into lemon/olive oil mixture and return chicken to pan. Cover with lid and bake in oven about 30-35 minutes, until chicken is falling of the bone.

Leave a Reply

