Fingerling Potatoes Two Ways, Cooked Once


Those of you who don’t like to cook–or don’t have time to cook–probably think I’m a maniac because I appear to be spending so much time procuring and cooking food–from unconventional avenues for purchasing (such as a co-op, local farmer, garden, or farmers’ market instead of the grocery store)–to the types of recipes that inspire my cooking.

Really, though, it all just comes down to good planning. I like to spend my time doing lots of other things, too. But I like to eat well. Not just tasty food–healthful food.

Here’s an example of what I mean by good planning:

Last night we had lamb chops for dinner. I thought the organic fingerling potatoes that we got from the West Michigan Co-op last week would be a nice side dish. Since we didn’t have to work on New Year’s Day, Bill and I planned to make a big breakfast. So I roasted two times the amount of potatoes last night in order to have some for breakfast today.

After frying some nitrite-free bacon, I cut up the leftover potatoes–roasted in olive oil and sea salt–and put them in the bacon pan (after draining the grease) with some olive oil, fresh rosemary, salt and pepper. It’s the closest thing we can get to the potatoes Every Day People Cafe made for breakfast when they were open in the morning.

Believe it or not, we still have fresh rosemary in a pot leftover from the summer. I just brought it in to our breezeway, which faces south, and snip leaves as needed for cooking.

Along with nitrite-free bacon, happy eggs, and toasted Millet & Flax Bread from Sami’s Bakery, fingerlings help round out the meal for a delicious holiday breakfast.

Leave a Reply

