Chocolate Chip Cookies for Bill


This is a tough time of year for people with gluten and dairy allergies, what with all the sweets hanging around at the workplace and at holiday parties.

Since I do some baking for the holidays–such as the Zucchini Bread I send to my siblings and the cookies I bake for Hospice–I like to make something that Bill can eat, too.

I found this recipe for Wheat-Free Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies from Godairyfree.org. It’s easy and it’s yummy. I’m just as happy eating these cookies as I would be eating ones with butter in them. (In fact, too happy, which is another reason I don’t usually bake: If there’s a cookie in the house, I’ll eat it!)

There’s one substitution I made, which wouldn’t work for those with peanut allergies: Instead of shredded coconut, I used natural-style peanut butter. We just love peanut butter, so this was a good move for Bill and me.

Also, these take longer than the recipe instructs, at least in my oven. I increased the baking time to about 14 minutes.

For the chocolate chips, I used the same bittersweet chocolate chips (Sunspire) that I put in Bill’s Chocolate Cake (about half a package).

It’s easy to bake on parchment paper, as my friend Lois reminded me!

Just cool them for a few minutes when they’re done.

They get a seal of approval from the Mew Chef!

2 responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookies for Bill

  1. So glad you enjoyed the recipe! Ovens do vary, but if you added PB, this could also increase the cook time by just a minute or two. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

