Winter Squash Soup


One of my favorite soups to make this time of year is Bon Appetit magazine’s Winter Squash Soup with Gruyere Croutons. It’s easy and I can use local ingredients–such as the acorn squash and a butternut squash that I stashed in my garage as I squirreled away all the veggies I could get my hands on at the Holland Farmers’ Market.

 

I pretty much followed the recipe as is, except I used olive oil instead of butter when I sauteed the onions and garlic since Bill’s allergic to (cow) dairy. And I omitted the cream completely.

I used pretty large-sized squash in order to get four cups of each kind.

And, when I don’t make my own chicken stock, I try to buy organic. While the descriptions for organic and free-range chicken are nebulous, I guess it’s my best attempt at trying to buy the happiest broth around.

Read the back of the box of Pacific Natural Foods organic free-range chicken broth. It says the chickens are raised in an environment where they can roam freely. That could still be limiting, and certainly doesn’t guarantee happy chickens running around in a field. These are the challenges of buying food in our country!

Once you add the stock , squash, and herbs to the onions and garlic, you just let it simmer.

Then puree.

When I made the soup this time, it was for a gathering of a very special group of women friends. While they certainly deserve to have the croutons, I skipped them this time because I made the soup ahead of time and transported it to our event. But the croutons are a nice touch, and make the soup more of a meal, unless, of course, you have wheat and/or dairy allergies.

Bon appetit!

3 responses to “Winter Squash Soup

  1. And it was delicious! Glad you’re a part of that special group–and not just for the cooking.

  2. Thanks, Lois. It’s an amazing group to be a part of. I’m honored to know such great women!

  3. Loved this soup! I use the same chicken broth…it has the lowest sodium count that I’ve found so far. It was great to see everyone last night!

Leave a Reply

