Matching Food with Wine: The Hypocrisy of Eating Locally and Drinking Globally


I’m not much of a wine snob but I have to say the first time I went to Sonoma County, California, I tasted wine like no other. California red wines (with Pinot Noir being my fave) are just out of this world, especially when you’re sipping them right at the winery. Sure, we have some great wines in Michigan, too (Sweet Rieslings, ports and sparkling wines are my preference here) but there’s something about a melt-in-your-mouth velvety red from the Russian River Valley that makes wine drinking a true sensual experience.

When I read Monday’s article in The New York Times Dining and Wine section I could totally relate to the hypocrisy of ordering European wines with local food in the Bay Area, aka “the spiritual center of the Eat Local movement.” It’s about as bad as me ordering California wine with dinner in Michigan.

But, as the article explains, some foods–such as Italian–are meant to go with Italian wines, for example. Dan Barber, chef and an owner of the Blue Hill restaurants in New York, supports this thinking: “Even though local and regional has become such an important buzzword for buying and eating,” he said, “I don’t know that it necessarily extends to wines.”

Whew. That makes me feel better.

But others disagree. Tyler Colman, a writer and blogger, suggests “drinking local is the best option from a greenhouse gas perspective.”

What do you think? Read the article and let me know your thoughts!

2 responses to “Matching Food with Wine: The Hypocrisy of Eating Locally and Drinking Globally

  1. I live by the old adage, “anything in moderation”. I live a sustainable life at home but purchase some items from afar like, spices, flour, sugar, and …wine. If we stick mostly to local and touch the global economy moderately I believe we are doing our part for the earth as a whole and the economy as well. Buy responsibly, that’s my moto. It doesn’t eliminate far flung flavors.

    • Thanks for your comment, Jill. I tend to agree with you about the trade items, such as spices, coffee, etc. It doesn’t hurt to help the global economy. But, as you say, all in moderation!

Leave a Reply

