Oatmeal with Nuts and Berries


Organic oatmeal with nuts and berries

Organic oatmeal with nuts and berries

I know, it’s kind of cliche, but I think oatmeal is one of the best breakfast meals ever. With raspberries and blueberries still in season at the Holland Farmers’ Market, I can have a pretty filling breakfast.

On weekdays when I’m in a hurry to get to work, I admit I make instant (organic) oatmeal. But on the days I work at home, or weekends, Bill and I enjoy the real stuff together.

Bill makes oatmeal from organic, fast-cooking oats we buy in bulk at one of our favorite health food stores, Nature’s Market or Harvest Health Foods. I add a little brown sugar when it’s ready, then throw some walnuts in while it’s hot to soften them slightly. Top with berries and add a little soy milk or organic milk to reduce the thickness, and it’s yummy.

Leave a Reply

