Zucchini Galore!


IMG_6640_zucchini

Anyone who grows zucchini in their garden understands the surplus this summer squash provides. If you have friends who love it, it won’t go to waste. Or, if you like zucchini bread, you can grate the zucchini and stash it in your freezer to make this delicious treat during the winter.

Check out my pre-teen handwriting in this comb-bound homemade cookbook my mom started for me when I was a kid. I have no idea where the recipe came from!*
IMG_6630_zucchini bread

For the wheat-free, dairy-free, corn-free folks, here’s how I alter it:

Instead of regular wheat flour, I substitute half organic oat flour and half organic brown rice flour. Drop the oil quantity down to a 1/2 cup to keep it from being too greasy. (I’m still trying to perfect this adaptation of the recipe and would love to hear your comments!)

IMG_6636_zucchini bread

This recipe actually makes two loaves. Since I only have two loaf pans of different materials (one aluminum, one stoneware), I have no choice but to bake them in what I’ve got. (Okay, so I have a choice but I’m too cheap to buy another pan. The aluminium one is sentimental–my mom used to make meatloaf in it; and the stoneware from Le Creuset is what I bought Bill to make his meatloaf in.)

I am not a baker (I hate to measure) so I have no idea what type of pan is better for what type of baking. My preference is the bread made in stoneware so I recommend using it if you’ve got it. (Or put it on your birthday wish list!)

Taste test: Aluminum or Stoneware?
Taste test: Aluminum or Stoneware?

*My friend Cathy emailed me that she thinks I probably got the recipe from her mom, who got it from a newsletter her parents printed for a client.

3 responses to “Zucchini Galore!

  1. If I lived near you I would totally take some zucchini off your hands!

    justalittlepiece.wordpress.com

  2. We are probably the only family in the entire world that cannot grow Zucchini! We get one, maybe two, and then the plant dies. Some kind of borer. I change locations yearly in the hopes…but no luck. I must say that your blog inspired(guilted!?) me into going to our local farmers market for the first time this year..and yes.. we are eating well tonight!

Leave a Reply

