Second Breakfast


Ground pork hash with potatoes and onions, topped with fried eggs

Ground pork hash with potatoes and onions, topped with fried eggs

It’s either high metabolism or my inability to stop thinking about food that motivates me to eat breakfast twice a day. I can’t leave the house without eating, even if I’m going out for breakfast. Usually, even a banana or a bowl of cereal will do the trick to get my brain in gear. But my preference is at least a thick smoothie or big bowl of oatmeal with nuts and berries.

At work, second breakfast might be yoghurt with fruit, a banana, or a piece of toast with peanut butter.

But when I’m home with no schedule, I love indulging in a big breakfast or second breakfast, or even breakfast for lunch.

So today Bill and I browned some leftover grassfed ground pork from the-no-longer-operating Providence Farms, fried up some butterball potatoes from Visser Farms along with onions from the Boeve Farm (all procured at the Holland Farmers’ Market), and placing Bill’s fried eggs on top of our “hash”. Oh, and the eggs? From Grassfields grassfed chicken eggs. You can get them at the farmers’ market, too. That’s a happy breakfast!

Leave a Reply

